Hermetic: Stephan Hoeller – A Lecture On Hermes Trismegistus

YT description: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCclu…

Stephan A. Hoeller, scholar of gnosticism and bishop of the Ecclesia Gnostica in LA lectures on Hermes and Hermeticism.

I have taken these recordings from this website where they are offered for free (http://gnosis.org/welcome.html) and uploaded them to YouTube in order that they might receive a broader audience.

Visit http://gnosis.org/welcome.html for more information.

Title: Stephan A. Hoeller – Hermes Trismegistus [Lecture] (YT link) Uploaded by The Modern Hermeticist.

Stephan Hoeller: A Lecture On Hermes Trismegistus – (2013) 4 stars

Run time: 1 hour, 26 minutes. This lecture is good for these new to the ideas of Hermetics, from a historical researcher’s standpoint. In my opinion, Hermeticism was rekindled in the early 20th century, a time of great spiritual Enlightenment. Spiritual enthusiasts found the core teachings from ancient Egyptian texts, rewrote them in a way similar to how Blavatsky did with Eastern philosophies in the late 19th century, and re-branded them to a modern Western audience.

What Hoeller does here is to correlate the ancient deities of the Egyptian Thoth and the Greek Hermes to the modern (and eternal) figure of Hermes Trismegistus. This is more about the deity than about the teachings. What I found of further interest, and also fascination, is how Hermes is seen as a Messianic figure in much the same way that Christians view Jesus.

Personally, I tend to follow the work of the great teachers: the Buddhist Buddha, the Gnostic Jesus and the Indian Krishna, more than I follow the originators of those philosophies. I suppose every great teacher must in some way be idolized by his (or her) followers, but that reduces the teachings to more of a cult following, where a cult follows a single person, like Islam does, as opposed to a religion that contains dogma accompanied by ritual, as seen in Catholicism.

In my life experience, I have only seen religious men and religious books written by men. Perhaps if in my lifetime I see a demigod or other such entity walking the Earth, I will have to change my outlook, but for now I have no inclination to build up a shrine for anyone. I’ll stick to the doctrines, the ideas, for the time being.

By raymondtowers Tagged

Leave a Reply

